INfluencia The Blockchain
Publicis-ETO

The big editorial

The blockchain is a major innovation.

The blockchain is a major innovation.

Technological innovations, from big data and connected objects, to virtual reality and artificial intelligence, are arriving ever faster, bringing about significant changes in the ecosystems where they emerge. But the blockchain is much more than a technology. It is an organisational and information management model that could revolutionise whole sectors of the economy and society. Especially since this model addresses every major societal issue that figures amongst the expectations of citizen-consumers, such as transparency and trust.

Its best known application today is the bitcoin. While this virtual currency may have been through some ups and downs, the building block on which it is based, the blockchain, is increasingly being used as a protocol for a multitude of applications in finance, healthcare, real estate, online voting, etc.

In marketing, we can imagine applications to reinforce co-financing between brands and their consumers, or even between consumers themselves. The need to restore trust and the sense of mistrust in many people’s minds are such, that the potential is huge. As long as we fully understand the characteristics of this new paradigm and the possibilities of this new technology, all we have to do is imagine and build!

1

Between January 2015 and May 2016, the number of searches for “blockchain” on Google increased by 733%.

INfluencia La Blockchain
Publicis-ETO

Le big edito

La blockchain, une innovation majeure

Big Data, objets connectés, réalité virtuelle, intelligence artificielle… Les innovations technologiques se succèdent à un rythme de plus en plus accéléré en bouleversant plus ou moins l’écosystème dans lequel elles émergent. La blockchain, de son côté, est beaucoup plus qu’une technologie. C’est un modèle d’organisation et de gestion de l’information qui peut révolutionner des champs entiers de l’économie et de la société. Et ceci d’autant plus que ce modèle adresse des problématiques sociétales majeures et attendues par les citoyens consommateurs telles que la transparence ou la confiance.

L’application la plus connue aujourd’hui est le bitcoin. Cette monnaie virtuelle connaît des hauts et des bas mais le socle sur lequel elle est basée, la blockchain, est de plus en plus utilisé pour servir de protocole à de multiples applications dans la finance, la santé, l’immobilier, le vote en ligne, etc.

Coté marketing, il est possible d’envisager des applications pour renforcer la confiance entre les marques et leurs consommateurs, voire entre les consommateurs et d’autres consommateurs. Le potentiel est énorme tant la confiance a besoin d’être rétablie, tant la défiance s’est installée dans les esprits. Tout reste donc à imaginer et à construire à condition de bien saisir les caractéristiques de ce nouveau paradigme et les possibles de cette nouvelle technologie !

1

De janvier 2015 à mai 2016, le nombre de recherches Google sur la blockchain a bondi de 733%.